Tuesday, December 9, 2008

Seven Steps (Saptapadi) in Hindu marriages

The most important meaningful ritual, followed in Hindu marriages is the Seven Steps. This is performed after tying the sacred thread called Mangalsutra or Thali.
All the seven steps are taken, invoking the Gods to shower their blessings on the couple.

  • The first step leads to nourishing and pure food.
  • The second step leads to strength.
  • The third step leads to prosperity.
  • The fourth step leads to happiness.
  • The fifth step leads to progeny.
  • The sixth step leads to long life.
  • The seventh step leads to bondage.

1 comment:

jayakarthik said...

nice explanation to the saptapadi
and also thanks for visiting my blogs.